Almond Cloud Cookies

Well, the inevitable has happened, and it’s my Cake and Bread classes’ fault.  I gained 10 pounds.  I’m not usually that concerned about my weight (my giant sweet tooth is more persuasive than my vanity), but I recognize that if I’m going to happily and successfully complete my journey toward becoming a pastry chef, I’ll need to keep my health a priority.  Tight chef’s pant aren’t comfortable no matter how many people say they’re like pajama pants.

So while I get myself to the gym more often, I hope y’all don’t mind a few lighter recipes on the blog this summer.  It won’t be bad, I promise.  No diet soda cakes, or weird fat-free ingredients used, just lots of fresh fruit and smaller slices of cake!

Don’t think of these cookies as diet food. Think of them as French Macarons without the filling, or surprise your gluten-sensitive friends with these delicious gluten-free cookies!  They’re crunchy on the outside and a bit chewy on the inside from the almond flour.  The secret ingredient is the cinnamon.  I never would have thought about adding cinnamon to merginue cookies, but the spice is so delicious with the intense sweetness that meringue cookies can have.

Almond Cloud Cookies

adapted from Weight Watchers (sorry I can’t link to the original recipe)

3 egg whites
1/4 tsp salt
1/4 tsp cinnamon
1 cup sugar
1/2 cup almond meal

  1. Preheat over to 250°.  Line baking sheet with parchment paper or spray lightly with non-stick spray.
  2. Beat whites, salt and cinnamon to a soft foam.
  3. Add sugar, about 1 tablespoon at a time and beat until stiff peaks form. Fold in almond meal.
  4. Pipe or spoon batter into 1-inch mounds or rosettes.
  5. Bake for 1 1/2 hours or until firm and dry to the touch.  Let cool on sheet and then gently lift off the pan.
2 comments on “Almond Cloud Cookies

  1. Bob Warren says:

    How many of these cookies do I have to eat to lose 5 pounds a week? These do look very seriously delicious. As usual, I wish you lived closer so I could stop by and sample one or two.

  2. Michael Murphy says:

    Thank you Sarah! My doctor recently put me on a gluten-free diet, so these will be a treat!

Leave a Reply

